How Old Do You Have To Be To Rent A Car – A car is a necessity, in most of the parts of USA. You can either buy a car or rent a car. Of course! If you are going to travel for a short duration, it is a good idea to rent a car. You can get a car on a daily, weekly or monthly basis.
When you rent a car you will not get a driver and you need to drive it yourself. The car rental companies are located at the airport and many others are located within the city or at hotels.
It is possible you can pick a car from one place and drop to another place this point you need to specify in advance. Otherwise, you need to pay extra charges for this.
Minimum age requirement to rent a car?
As per the USA rules for renting your age must be 21 years to rent a car. Some suppliers charge on drivers who are under 25 years of age. There is no maximum age restriction in the USA.
Some states in the USA operate a surcharge of approximately $13 per day for the drivers aged 21 to 24. Along with the age of a driver’s license and credit card on your name are also required to rent a car.
What is the need of minimum age requirement to rent a car?
As per the statistics, the driver under the age of 25 is more likely to get into accidents than older drivers. As per the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration data when a driver reaches the age of 25 the crash rate declines dramatically.
Most rental agencies tack on a “young renter” fee or surcharge for those who are under age of 25 in order to avoid the higher risk of accidents,. There are some exceptions in Michigan and New York and the minimum age to rent a car is 18 years as mandated by the states. However, the surcharge is tending to be higher for the drivers in the 18-20-year-old age brackets.
How Old Do You Have To Be To Rent A Car
The legal age of Majority
The age of majority is 18 in every state, but the young drivers are not legally able to sign a contract. It would put the rental agency at a risk if the renter doesn’t pay. Along with the rental agency could be liable if a younger renter injured in an accident or injured somebody. So no car rental agency takes the risk to rent a car to a driver under 18.
Discretion of rental agency
As per the publication, only New York and Michigan state laws require car rental agencies to rent to drivers age over 18. All other states allow the rental car companies the discretion to set their minimum age requirements that are not always 25.
The graduated surcharges are applicable to the young drivers and the most substantial fee charged to those who are between 18 to 21. In other states, some rental companies allow drivers to rent their car with a daily surcharge.
Note: The underage drivers at not eligible to rent higher-value vehicles such as luxury cars, SUVs or vans.
Military Government and business use
The popular car rental agencies, such as Alamo and Budget, allow chaufers as young as 18 to rent a car without of any surcharge while traveling on official military or government orders.
Some agencies give this privilege to private rentals for military and government employees; on the other hand, some others do not. Some companies have exclusive agreements with one or more rental agencies for their young employees traveling on business.
The car rental agencies of USA do not impose the maximum age limit on rentals. In some countries, a maximum age limit is common. This limit varies between rental agencies and from country to country.
Read More – The Best Time To Buy a Car
Note: Often the maximum age limit falls between age 75 and 80. – How Old Do You Have To Be To Rent A Car